38.5 F
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
HomeLocal NewsLocal GovernmentNon-partisan race filings released

Non-partisan race filings released

By Jeremy D. Wells

Carter County Times

Candidates running with one of the two major political parties had to be registered prior to the primary elections in May. But those running as an independent, or in one of the non-partisan races – like city council or mayor – had a little longer to file. That window has closed now too, and the final list of candidates running in the general election has been released. 

“If they want to run now, it will have to be a write-in,” county clerk Mike Johnston said. 

Joining Republican Brandon Burton and Democrat Dustin Howard in the race for Judge Executive is Grayson city clerk Duane Suttles. In addition to serving as the current city clerk for Grayson, Suttles served for several years as a Grayson city councilman, and in various administrative capacities and leadership roles for the Grayson Volunteer Fire Department. 

City councilman Troy Combs has a challenger for the role of Grayson’s mayor too. Fred Miller has also registered to run for that office. 

Whoever wins the race will be working with a mix of new and veteran city councilpersons. Running for that office are incumbents Terry Stamper, Sudy Walker, and Bradley Cotten, as well as former councilperson Jennifer Scott McGlone. They’re joined on the ballot by Michael Harper and Dustin Burchett. 

Over in Olive Hill, city councilman Justin Dixon has filed to run against incumbent Jerry Callihan in the city’s mayoral race.

Even with Dixon hoping to move into the mayor’s seat, there is a real race for council in Olive Hill, with seven candidates filing to fill one of the six seats on council. Incumbents Wayne Russell, Eric Rayburn, Chris Bledsoe, Shannon Shutte, and Kirk Wilburn, who stepped in to fill an unexpired term last year, are joined on the ballot by Stevie Clay and Shane Tackett. 

In the soil conservation district, voters will choose between Mike Sexton, of Willard, Lois Barber, of Grayson, and Barry Shaffer, also of Grayson. 

In the school board races, Miranda Tussey is running unopposed in District 2 while Chris Perry is running unopposed in District 5. Both Tussey and Perry were appointed to fill unexpired terms, with Perry filling the seat vacated when Wilburn left the school board for the open city council seat. 

Contact the writer at editor@cartercountytimes.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: