38 F
Thursday, November 30, 2023
HomeLocal NewsSafe Harbor Lobster Fest celebrating 16th year

Safe Harbor Lobster Fest celebrating 16th year

Safe Harbor’s Lobster Fest is celebrating its 16th anniversary and Safe Harbor’s 40th Birthday with the event set for Saturday, August 12, 2023, from 6:30 p.m.-midnight, at Bellefonte Country Club.

Safe Harbor provides vital services to domestic violence survivors and their children across the FIVCO ADD. Funds raised during the annual event have helped transform the 20-acre campus into a 60-bed Emergency Shelter, 30-bed Transitional Shelter and 34 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom apartments for survivors and their families. All proceeds from this year’s event will go towards Safe Harbor’s new art studio.

The theme is, Happy 40th Birthday Safe Harbor and is co-hosted by Safe Harbor and the Boyd County Medical Alliance. The Lobster Fest committee is chaired by Ann Perkins.

Scott Martin will serve as the host and auctioneer for the live auction portion of the event. Music will be provided by The Bad Habits Band. This marks the tenth year The Bad Habits Band has performed at Lobster Fest and is returning due to popular demand.

The menu will be prepared by Bellefonte Country Club, and will include a choice of Surf and Turf, lobster tail, a filet mignon with fresh herb butter or a filet mignon with fresh herb butter. Side dishes will include twice baked potato with aged cheddar, bacon, and chives, and roasted brussel sprouts with balsamic glaze. The vegetarian option will be butternut squash, spinach, and ricotta lasagna with roasted brussel sprouts with balsamic glaze. All entrees are gluten-free.

Hors d’oeuvres will feature an extensive raw bar of ahi tuna poke bowls, shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, oysters and artisan cheese and fruit board. Dessert will be vanilla ice cream with lobster sugar cookie garnish.

Among the evening’s events will be a gem scoop sponsored by Pollock’s Jewelers and silent and live auctions. Throughout the evening and after the meal, there will be dancing under the stars.

Tickets are $175 per person and may be purchased by calling Linda Day at (606) 329-9304 or by emailing lday@safeharborky.org. Seating is limited, and reservations are confirmed on a first-come, first-served basis. All reservations must be made in advance of the event.

“The Lobster Fest Committee and the Medical Alliance have transformed Safe Harbor’s ability to provide Continuum of Care services to thousands of women and children, who are victims of domestic violence,” said Ann Perkins, executive director of Safe Harbor.

“Without the Medical Alliance’s and the community’s help, we would never have been able to accomplish such projects as the much-needed renovation of the Emergency Shelter,” she said. “In the past, we have utilized these monies to renovate the cafeteria, kitchen and meeting room area at Harbor Hill as well as our Emergency and Transitional shelter buildings while ensuring the continuation of Safe Harbor’s vital services to victims and their children.”

Sponsorships include the following levels:

Event: $10,000, which includes sixteen tickets; $7,200 is tax-deductible.

Lighthouse: $7,500, which includes ten tickets; $5,700 is tax-deductible.

Sailboat: $5,000, which includes eight tickets; $3,600 is tax-deductible.

Rowboat: $2,500, which includes six tickets; $1,450 is tax-deductible.

Canoe: $1,000, which includes four tickets; $300 is tax-deductible.

Lifesaver: $500, which includes two tickets; $150 is tax-deductible.

Members of this year’s Lobster Fest Committee include Ann Perkins, Mia Brown, Bruce Davis, Jan Walz, Heather Van Deren, Lisa Justice, Tina Dotson, Ann Marie Short, Tina Mussetter, Leigh Latherow, Annie Robinson, Candy Boykin, Theresia Gussler, Heather Wolfe, Linda Day, and Tina Hunt.

Members of Safe Harbor’s Board of Directors are Tina Mussetter, president; Candy Boykin, vice president; Mike Robinson, treasurer; Pam Fultz and Ann Marie Short, co-secretaries; Heather Van Deren, past president, Mia Brown, Bruce Davis, Matt Davis, Tina Dotson, Theresia Gussler, Lisa Justice, Clayton Hill, Leigh Latherow. Annie Robinson, and Michelle Skaggs.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

%d bloggers like this: